At Great Grandmother’s Table in Ormond Beach, FL ca 1920

My Great Grandfather had a home on the Halifax River in Ormond Beach, Florida where he lived winters.  He was a Scottish merchant and other Scottish merchants had homes near him.  They called themselves “the Scottish Syndicate.”  The home was called Rowallan after a castle in his native Ayrshire.

Above is my Great Grandmother’s table at Rowallan (ca 1915). The centerpiece appears to be flowers and fruits.  These round tables are making a comeback now but with one difference: they are constructed so that you can add leaves around the outside to expand them if you wish.  Otherwise, they might be ungainly in today’s interiors.

There was a small orange grove on the property.  When the house was sold, the appraiser, in trying to devalue the place for tax purposes said: “it must have cost one dollar per orange to produce fruit in that grove.”  In other words, it wasn’t set up for economies of scale!

You could eat fruit al fresco in the grove as my cousins did here:

Or you could eat it at table using a citrus spoon with enameled orange blossoms.  This is a spoon actually used at Roallan.  It was the gift of a cousin in the family pictured above.  She was the youngest and is not pictured.

We know for certain that wild turkey was on the menu at the house.  Here is a picture of my young father (ca 1925) with one that had just been shot.  We must remember that Florida in those days was not developed to the extent it is today and so wild turkeys were not far away.

We are fortuate to have these pictures and some artifacts from those days almost a century ago.   There were seven children in the family and so a spoon is a treasure!

©SamHenry.  Registraton pending.

7 thoughts on “At Great Grandmother’s Table in Ormond Beach, FL ca 1920

    1. Thanks winged one. I love them too. I’m the family “archivist.” I love history and I try to make mine part of the mainstream. Just another example. Sadly all of this lifestyle was gone by the time I arrived. That’s ok. It’s character that counts and we have strong, survivors’ character. I think most Americans have that!!

      Like

    1. No. The chair that was my Great Grandmother’s was the Great Grandmother on the other side of the family – maternal. I will take a pick of it and add it to the post. It’s a sweet old thing.

      I like the Victorian fiddle-backed chairs at this Great-Grandmother’s table.

      Like

  1. I now own Rowallan and live there with my wife and two children. it has had several renovations in the last 100 years to keep it in good shape, and we love living there. Thank you for posting the pictures, we love to see how the house looked in it’s original state .. do you have any more?

    Like

  2. I have a few more, Tony. Thank you so much for even being interested.
    I will forward them to you via e-mail.
    This is a wonderful turn of fate. Yes, I know that “Rowallan” was changed a couple of times and have seen a picture of it today on Wikipedia. I updated that article.
    Will get things out to you as soon as I can. Will it be possible for you to forward the pictures and this article on to the Historical Society?

    Like

Leave a Reply

