Banana Walnut Bread

I do most of my baking during the cooler months of the year & quick breads are one of my favorites things to bake.

Quick breads are made with quick acting leavening like baking powder, soda, sour milk or steam, instead of the slower rising yeast.

Many different kinds of breads, muffins, biscuits and corn breads fall into the “quick breads” category, including pancakes, waffles, dumplings & doughnuts.

Today’s “quick & easy recipe” is for Banana Walnut Bread. Ready? Here we go:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 3 cups sifted flour
  • 3-1/2 TSP. baking powder
  • 1 TSP. salt (Kosher if you have it)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 TBSP. shortening
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 2 overly ripe mashed bananas
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup chopped walnuts

PREPARATION:

  • Preheat oven to 350°.
  • Cream the sugar & shortening together.
  • Stir in the egg, milk & mashed bananas. Mix well.
  • Sift together & stir in the flour, baking powder & salt.
  • Add the chopped nuts to the mixture & stir.
  • Pour into a well greased 9″ x 5″ x 3″ loaf pan.
  • Dust the top with cinnamon or nutmeg (optional)
  • Let it stand for 20 minutes or so before baking.
  • Bake for about 70 minutes or until golden brown.
  • When done, a toothpick inserted in center will come out clean.
  • Let cool in pan for 5 minutes, then remove loaf & finish cooling on a wire rack. The loaf will have a “crack” on the top. This is normal.

Here’s a look at the finished product

The loaf will be easier to slice when allowed to fully cool, but who can wait that long?

posted by Mountain Republic

Related Articles:

5 thoughts on “Banana Walnut Bread

  1. Oh my, I’m on my way, save me a piece of that!

    I noticed you mentioned dusting the top with cinnamon or nutmeg – have you ever added those to the batter and mixed them in?

    And I also saw that you let it rest for 20 min before baking – does that help with the rising?

    I swear, my mouth is watering. Nomnomnom!

    Like

  2. I often stir nutmeg or cinnamon into my banana bread and it is very good. My family also likes it with raisins added, and if I’m feeling really adventurous, brown sugar instead of white.

    Though we don’t get to enjoy it much anymore since we have family members who cannot eat wheat. It’s been hard to make good gluten-free banana bread.

    Like

Leave a Reply

